Hyderabad FC duo called up for National duty

Abdul Rabeeh and Mark Zothanpuia make to India U23 list of probables for trip to Kuala Lumpur

Hyderabad: The AIFF has today announced that the India U23 men’s team are scheduled to take on Malaysia U23 National Team at Kuala Lumpur, in the upcoming FIFA international match window.

The senior side are set to take on Afghanistan home and away in the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers during the International window.

The games are scheduled on Friday, March 22 and Monday, March 25.

The AIFF announced today, a list of 26-probables, with a 23-man squad set to travel to Malaysia for the two friendly games against the hosts.

Former Indian International and current NEUFC assistant coach, Naushad Moosa will act as the Head Coach for the U23s.

Noel Wilson (assistant coach) and Deepankar Choudhury (goalkeeping coach) will join him as the support staff for this tour.

HFC star Mark Zothanpuia, who has been exceptional this season, registering an assist in 15 league games is a part of the 26-man probables announced by AIFF today.

The midfielder has played in multiple positions and has been impressive throughout the campaign This has earned him a much-deserved maiden call-up to the National side.

Winger Abdul Rabeeh, who was a part of the Indian side in the 2023 Asian Games, is also on the list of probable.

He has been entertaining the fans throughout and will be crucial to the side on this trip.

The duo graduated from the reserve team to the first team, were learning their trade during the Championship winning season at HFC and are now set to dawn the Blue of India, together in Malaysia!

Here is the list of probables:

Goalkeepers: Arsh Anwer Shaikh, Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Vishal Yadav

Defenders: Bikash Yumnam, Chingambam Shivaldo Singh, Hormipam Ruivah, Narender, Robin Yadav, Sandip Mandi

Midfielders: Abhishek Suryavanshi, Brison Fernandes, Mark Zothanpuia, Mohammed Aimen, Phijam Sanathoi Meetei, Thoiba Singh Moirangthem, Vibin Mohanan

Forwards: Abdul Rabeeh, Gurkirat Singh, Irfan Yadwad, Isak Vanlalruatfela, Khumanthem Ninthoinganba Meetei, Mohammed Sanan, Parthib Sundar Gogoi, Samir Murmu, Sivasakthi Narayanan, Vishnu Puthiya Valappill

The team start training in Delhi on March 15, with a squad of 23 set to travel to Malaysia on the 20th of this month.

Share this
Further Reading