School Football League ends on a high note

DRF Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya, Indus, Sreenidhi Intl, Aga Khan Academy, Golconda Govt schools emerged as Champions in 3rd Edition of School Football Leagues; Govt. Schools prove their mettle

Hyderabad: The final match of the School Football League (SFL) ended on Sunday with DRF Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya, Indus, Sreenidhi Intl, Aga Khan Academy, Golconda Govt schools emerging as Champions in the 3rd Edition of SFL.

After a marathon 172 league matches played over the period of three months, the finals held at three venues at, Birla Open Minds International School, Sreenidhi International School, and SFC ground Aziz agar from 8 AM to 2 PM. The Presentation Ceremony was held at Sreenidhi School.

A total of 60 teams participated on the League basis. A close to 1200 boys and girls competed in this League. Some of the participating schools include FIITJEE, Phoenix Creens, Pebble Creek, Indus International, Birla Open Minds International School, Meridian Madhapur, Sreenidhi International, KV2 Golconda, Sadhana Infinity, Aga Khan, Oakridge Gachibowli, Boarum Govt School, Little Flower School, Karwan Govt School, Silver Oaks, Glendale, Pudami, Pudami Govt School, Insight International School and others.

The salient feature of this year is increasing number of girls and teams have participated in the SFL. The List of girls teams/schools include: Bira Open Minds; Indus Intl; Phoenix Greens Pebble Creek; DRF Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya; Aga Khan Rockwell; Futurekids; Meridian and KV2 Golconda

In Under-11 Girls, DRF Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya emerged as Champions; in Boys category, Indus International adjudged as the Champion.

U-13 Girls Category DRF Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya and in Boys Category, Sreenidhi International School have clinched the Championship.

U-15 Girls Category, Aga Khan Academy and in Boy Golconda Govt have become Champions.

U-18 Boys category, Aga Khan Academy has emerged as the Champions.

ISL team players Marcelinho, Kamaljit Singh, Adil Khan, Bobo, Matt Kilgallon, Marko Stankovic were present to encourage the grassroots level football players. They also gave away the trophies. The others guests who graced include: The Chief guests at the final include: Varun Tripuraneni, Owner Hyderabad FC and Albert Roca, Coach of HFC, Pratima Sinha, CEO Birla Open Minds, Fabio Nunes: Technical Director Sreenidhi Football Club.

In U-11Boys Category Champion Boots bagged by Jahaan (Indus International); Golden Boot by Keerthan (Phoenix Greens) for scoring 13 goals and Golden Glove: by Vibhu (Future Kids)

In U-11 Girls, the Champion Boots was presented to Aishwarya (Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya);

Golden Boot to Nainika (Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya) for scoring 8 goals and Golden Glove to Lynn (Indus International)

In U-13 Boys category, the Champion Boots went to Samarth (Sreenidhi International School); Golden Boot to Karthik (Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya) for scoring 8 Goals and Golden Glove to Nischal (Sreenidhi International School)

In the U-13 Girls category, the Champion Boots is bagged by Swathi (Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya); Golden Boot by Sanya (Aga Khan Academy) for scoring 5 goals and Golden Glove to Mubeena (Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya)

In U-15 Boys, Abdul Maseeb (Golconda Government) got the Champion Boots: Choi (Reqelford International School) got Golden Boot for scoring a splendid 12 Goals and Dhamidhar Reddy of Aga Khan Academy took away Golden Glove.

In U-15 Girls Category, the Champion Boots winner was Pavani (Ushodaya High school); Golden Boot winner Sharon (Aga Khan Academy) for clocking 5 Goals and Golden Glove recipient was Zoya (Aga Khan Academy)

In U-18 Boys category, Ayaan Meridia of Aga Khan Academy was selected for Champion Boots; Niall of the same school chosen for Golden Boot for scoring 6 goals and Sreeram of Indus International School was picked up for Golden Glove.

A record number of girls are getting into football. At the same time, Government School Football players are giving a tough fight to private schools players. This was evident in the just concluded SFL Season 3.

The city was once the hot-bed for football. 8 players out of the Indian Football team that defeated Australia on December 01, 1956, in the quarterfinals of the Olympics in Melbourne were from Hyderabad. Over the years, the city has produced 14 Olympians and 21 International footballers. The Hyderabad Police Football team was one of the most respected teams by fans and rivals alike. Such was the dominance of Hyderabad on the sport both at national and international football scene.

SFL was born to provide a high-quality competitive tournament experience to young players. The idea is to build and engage communities through Football and reignite the passion for football to put Hyderabad back on the national map. It is also our endeavour to nurture a generation of players and fans who will carry India into FIFA WC 2026, informed Himanshu Charan, Managing Partner of SFL.

Share this
Further Reading